Pawsitivity

So, I have a close friend who’s a dog person. She asks me why I like cats. Wellllll… to be honest, I don’t have a solid reason as to why I love cats so much. I just do. Why do you like dogs? And she went into a 10 minute rant of the benefits of having a dog. For example, you read all these stories about dogs saving lives. But what about cats? What do cats do for us?? Believe me, cats are beneficial to have.

  • One of the things I can name off the top of my head is that spending time with your cat, can relieve stress. Spending quality time releases serotonin, the feel good chemical our bodies produce. In fact, people who own cats were 40% less likely to die from a heart attack.
  • Cats don’t need to be walked. I get that walking a dog is a good health benefit, but after going to school for 4 hours and then working for 8, I’m exhausted. I don’t have to worry about getting home at 9 or 10 at night and have to walk my cat. When I get home, they follow me around and I give them attention for five minutes and then they’re on to the next thing. So then I can work on my piles of homework.
  • Cats don’t have to be let out to go to the bathroom. Again, I see the downfall, that you have a smelly litterbox, but theres downfalls to having to let your dog out. What if you let her out and she runs away? It’s happened to family friends before…. Or what if you have a tiny chihuahua and she gets taken by a hawk because you were still inside on the phone? It’s happened to the same people who’s second dog ran away with a pack of dogs. And thats not to say I haven’t had cats run away, that’s why my cats stay inside now and I don’t have to worry about it.
  • Since dogs go outside, they get dirty. When they get dirty, you have to give them baths before they get your whole house dirty. Cats, on the other hand, are clean. I only have to give them a bath once a year, if that, during flea season.
  • Cat’s don’t eat as much as dogs. My dad, for example, feeds the dogs two to three times a day. And they still get hungry! I have two cats and i feed them once a day, sometimes every other day, and don’t have to worry about them being hungry even still. Plus, cat food is generally less expensive than dog food.
  • Not only do dogs bark, but they bark when visitors come over. My cats will go up to someone, sniff them, and then walk away. Dogs will get all up in your visitors personal space, jump on them, sniff their crotch, and other obnoxious things. I’m lucky if my cats even meow at a visitor.
  • Dogs are cute, lovable, and always want attention. But with being gone and out as often as i am, cats just fit my lifestyle better. They don’t want a lot of attention, and when they do, they’ll let you know. Usually, when I get home from work and their waiting at the door, it’s because they want clean water or more food. And then I don’t hear from them again for a couple of hours. Which gives me time to do my homework or something entertaining.

Go release some serotonin and pet a cat this weekend!

-meow-

Leave a Reply

