Lost and Found

So sorry posting has been slim to none. 

I’ve been pretty stressed this final month of school.

So Pong ran away last night. After having two cats run away, I’ve been careful not to let the cats outside. So we shut off the barn and let them roam around. Buuuut cats find ways to get out.

I was about to go to a work meeting so I was going to put the cats back in my room. When I shook the treats for them to come, Ping and Pong were no where to be seen.

Of course, I start panicking. Animals are like your children for those of us that don’t have children. And it’s very easy to get super attached. I started walking around the pitch black shaking the bag of treats when Ping came running up to me. Pong is Ping’s shadow. So I figured he wasn’t far behind.

But he was actually no where to be seen. 

So we spent the next hour or two calling out to him in the woods, down the street, across the street in the woods. I don’t think you understand when I say, we leave on 11 acres. So that’s a lot of land to cover.

Well one by one the search party dwindled down until there was just two of us. I was trying so hard not to give up hope. The last cat I was really attached to ran away and never came back.

Truth be told, Amy (the first cat) ran away. That night, there was a storm…. Hunter (the last cat I was attached to), disappeared one night. And on THAT night, there was a storm. Coincidentally. Then, last night, Pong disappeared. While we were searching, I saw lightning out in the distance. I dropped to my knees and started crying my eyes out.

I was convinced at that point in time that I would never see Pong again.

Talking about it even know makes me start tearing up again. If you’ve ever lost someone close to you, you’d understand.

I know the best thing to do is focus on all the great times you have together. It’s hard for non-animal loving people to understand how much a pet can have an impact on your life.

Well, I was about to start walking down the street and telling neighbors. I was ready to take out a loan to pay someone to find this cat. Because to me, he’s not just a cat. He’s so much more.

I was halfway to the first neighbors house when I heard “I FOUND HIM!” I don’t think I’ve ever run so fast in my life.

I didn’t even know I could run after the accident. But when you care about someone that much, you’re willing to push all of your comfort bounds for them. And that’s exactly what I did.

Apparently, when no one was looking, he walked back into the barn and was sitting in the window watching us call out to him.

I’ve never been that relieved before. 

Now that I’ve shared my story, and not all stories have happy endings, I’d like to hear some of your stories about furry family members of yours. And no that doesn’t mean your hairy Uncle Bob :p

I figure now’s as good as a time as any to upload a video memory of my cats.

To be honest, I don’t think I could have continued this blog, my facebook, or my website (Kitty Comedy) if Pong hadn’t come back. Ping and Pong are the inspirations behind Kitty Comedy.

Just remember to keep calm if your cat decides to venture outside. More often then not, they try to come back. Cats are very territorial and don’t like to leave their land.

Keep calm and love cats ❤

Leave a Reply

