Follow the leader

So lately, I’ve been having some medical issues. I think cats tend to sense when something is amiss with their ‘human’.

When I was ‘homeless’ for a little while two years ago, Ping was attached at my hip. I really don’t think I could have gotten through that rough time in my life. He was there at my side when I was ‘roommate shopping’, when I was bouncing between houses and when I would cry myself to sleep. He spent countless hours with me in the car. It brings me to tears to reflect back on how loyal he was to me during this time.

Now, I’m going through an even more difficult part in my life. For anyone interested, I have a whole other blog dedicated to it.

Pong is always right on top of me. Though I haven’t acted any differently, he knows something is wrong.

I’ve always wondered how they notice when something is wrong.

The best way to describe it is that we’re part of our cats ‘pack’. When we so much as walk a little slower or breath a little heavier, they notice. And they attach themselves at your hip because they want to figure out what’s wrong. It’s their way of showing that they care.

Back in 2007, NBC posted that a “2-year-old feline was adopted as a kitten and grew up in a third-floor dementia unit at the Steere House Nursing and Rehabilitation Center. The facility treats people with Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s disease and other illnesses.”

In this nursing home, Oscar (the cat) would curl up with patients in their final hours. After ‘predicting’ 25 different deaths accurately, the staff has learned to call the family members because once he chooses someone, they usually have up to 4 hours left to live.

How does he know when someone is on their deathbed?

As I said earlier, cats can tell when someone has even the slightest bit of changes in their breathing pattern.

So is this why Pong can tell when something is wrong with me? Because my eating habits have changed, my breathing patterns are a little off, and I sleep in a different position than normal?

Either way, he’s right at my side no matter where I am. And that makes me that much more confident that I’ll get through and wind up on the other side that much stronger.

Leave a Reply

